Monday, July 28, 2008

JUST A SPOON FULL OF SUGAR

After seeing this ad on Craigslist, I have come to the conclusion that it is finally time to leave my job at Vh1 and pursue my life long dream of being a nanny to 5 pathetically spoiled kids from the Upper East Side. Life in the city is hard for kids these days, and what would a 19-year-old college freshman do if he didn't have someone to pick up his dry cleaning or manage his social calendar? I am 100% legal; I speak perfect English (I think), I'm skinny or "in shape" as they put it, and I have more than just "some college." Plus the 60-75 k ain't bad. Maybe this will be my opportunity to get that new iPhone I want, it surely would help me "interface" with the other assistants.


WANTED: Nanny/Family Assistant to start 2nd week in September (Upper East Side)

We're a family of ten. My husband and myself, our 5 children, 2 dogs, and cat. For as long as we've lived in the city we have been lucky to have the same nanny/family assistant. Originally starting out as my eldest son's baby nurse and staying with us for nearly 19 years.

I have had a hard time meeting people that have been right for the position. We've sought help from agencies and other nanny finding sites and have now moved here in search for some more dynamic candidates.

I feel that I must be up front, this job is a VERY much so a FULL TIME job with NO flexibility. Both my husband and self work full time in jobs where it is essential for us to work long hours (hedge fund and fashion industry).

I do need to be upfront when I say my children can be a bit difficult. This job is very nontraditional in the sense that my kids are older and still need someone to "parent" them 24/7. My oldest son will be starting his first year at Columbia in the fall and will not be around much, but, will probably still need support. Picking up his dry cleaning, if he needs anything for his apartment, scheduling doctor appointments, anything to help him and his daily life run smoothly.

The younger three, well, they're the one's you will have the most interaction with. They are 14 (son), 12 (daughter), and 9 (daughter). They are extremely particular and each have their own set of demands and little "isms" about them, but, I assure you they are entertaining, charming, and delightful most of the time.

Mostly impart to my children's ages the nanny will be expected to do some "family assistant" type jobs. This includes food shopping, light errand running, coordination of children's school and personal schedules in a way that both my husband and I can access, walking dogs, and interfacing with our assistants.

You should be: Younger and ambitious. This job is a lot of hours and not always easy for people that are not in shape to keep up with my kids.

MUST be 100% legal and able to speak PERFECT English. MUST be presentable/polished. MUST have SOME college. City savvy and Blackberry Accessible. HONEST. AND willing to have at least a 2 year contract.
Compensation will be: 18 days paid vacation. Half to be determined by you the rest by us. Health/Dental benefits (full, great plan) (after 90 days)

60-75 k DOE Paid over time at the rate of $60 an hour for any amount of time worked over 50 hours.

Option to live in our beautiful second apartment located on 84th between Park and Lex for a reduced rent.

To apply for this job please submit the following: "Resume" outlining your child care experience. A brief explanation of why you want to apply. My family and I will review these as they come in and will contact you with in 24 hours if we'd like to move you further along in the interview process. Please make the subject of your email- Nanny of 10 Position.

2 comments:

Katie said...

That job sounds like its worth a hundred grand, but the vacation is a lot and at least it has dental. Go for it! Get the iPhone!

Abbi Crutchfield said...

"Why I want this job: I'm too materialistic for the Peace Corps". This is paid slavery or as the history books call it, being an indentured servant. "In addition to owning people, I like to bring the SPA to ME, my husband wants to save on escort fees, and I want to turn a blind eye to my children's drug abuse." This has yikes written all over it, but if I were 20 and unmarried I'd jump at this opportunity. Especially for a chance to hook up with the older son.

I'd also call up a friend and propose going into it as a duo, a la Sunshine Cleaning, so I'd have a cell mate.